🍀PLANTZ AND FOOD - A RESTAURANT REVIEW: OUR LOCAL

3개월 전

plantznfoodz.jpg

GUYZ, WHAT IS UP! Wow, it's been a long time since I've posted. I've been trying to pull finger and get my act together to write a post since last week, but the creative juices just weren't flowing.


I've so overwhelmed with my real life life that I haven't even been able to keep up with Steemit. I've been trying to keep up with all the news, and all my commitments, and that's been A LOT lol!

Last week I popped into SteemChat, where all the smart people hang out, and darling @whatsup encouraged me a little, I actually felt motivated enough to formulate an idea in my head of what I wanted to post - so THANK YOU @whatsup, a few days late, but here I am.

It wouldn't be a MewMew post if there wasn't food or plants, so what's better than a post about food and plants? Probably a post about cats, but hey, we can't always get what we want, hey?


This is a bit of a #restaurant/ #travel destination review, so for those in #capetown, I hope you check it out, and if you do - call me when you're there - I live around the corner. Let's meet and eat! (and drink ) 😅

Come to think of it I can't even remember the restaurant's name! edit - it's called Our Local

I just know it is by the same people who do Yours Truly (check my review here) and Today, Tomorrow (check my review here)

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 17.52.27 (1).jpeg

I was drawn to it one day when walking home, as I walked past I just saw all the plants and died. I'm a huge plant lover, and couldn't walk on by without inspecting the joint - then I find out that they sell antiques and make food, hey girl, hey, I'm so in love.

In all honesty, the antiques are a bit run of the mill, but that might just be my taste, since I am an antiques dealer irl.

and dang!! the plants are v expensive y'all. I'm a true pennypinching scrooge, I'm one of those people who can't buy something at a higher price if I know it is cheaper somewhere else... But these plants were at last double what they cost in the nursery, and I feel like true plant lovers would know that... so I don't foresee the plant side of things doing well; but hey, it's Cape Town, people spend money on the weirdest things, and I did spot some pretty rare plants there too, so you never know.

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 18.39.07.jpeg

now, onto the important part of this review 😍, the food, and the actual restaurant.

We dropped in for Sunday brunch, which is not their main game. They are actually a bit of a posh concept eatery where you can go at night to have a three course meal. Again, I am not incredibly impressed, as this concept was done a few years back at Reverie in Observatory - see my review here. Lol - I think I sound like I am hard to impress 😂(I am - full disclosure)

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 18.39.08.jpeg

The space itself is so lovely, and there are loads of interesting things to look at. There is one communal table, and a few other more casual seating areas. We managed to get a small table to ourselves, as to be honest, I don't love the idea of communal dining. What if I want to skinner about the people next door to us??

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 18.53.39.jpeg

Honestly, if you're gonna open for breakfast - you should have at least one standard eggs and bakey kind of option. I appreciated the artistry of the interesting dishes, like Creamy Chicken Livers on Toast etc, but some people (ie my husband) just want eggs and bacon.

I had the Shakshuka, which was super tasty, really well seasoned, with lovely pita bread... but they eggs were over cooked 😭. I probably sound like I'm moaning a lot, but this is a dish I make at home often, and it is super easy to make - and for R95, (probably $8) I would expect some soft eggs. (God, I feel like a prissy moany pants)

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 17.52.26 (1).jpeg

My hubby hubs had a Bacon Toastie, with bacon, brie and caramelised onion, which he enjoyed, but the poor guy wanted some eggs and bacon. Anyway - we wanted to do something new!!

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 17.52.27.jpeg

I give the joint a 6 out of 10, just because I think the menu options were a bit limited, and I probably wouldn't go again for breakfast. Might pop in for a coffee and sandwich if I wanted to sit and work a bit, but not for a social lunch with a friend.

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 17.52.28 (1).jpeg

I was fascinated by some of the rare plants - I would definitely go again for some plant gazing. I took a photo of this pretty plant - looks like an orange snapdragon on steroids. . . Anyone know what it is? I'd love to find it at the nursery.

WhatsApp Image 2019-09-11 at 17.52.28.jpeg

Also loved this Lepismium cruciforme (Hurricane Cactus)- this is high up on my list of plants to buy... just got to find a spot... When you have so many plants like i do, you have to find a specific place for each new buy. 😅


Guys, I've had fun creating this post. I hope I can pop in for at least one a week until I get my groove back.

I hope you are all well.

Your thoughts matter to me. I upvote each and every well thought out comment that graces my post. To encourage dialogue and interaction. 💜

footer.png

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!
STEEMKR.COM IS SPONSORED BY
ADVERTISEMENT
Sort Order:  trending

You're sooo picky! I would be afraid to take you out for lunch! :')

That place looks amazing, the lunch options tasty, and overall happiness coming from these photos is 5 out of 5 :D

Glad you made a post again <3

·

nooo! you're joking right! honestly, i just feel like if you're paying SO much (it's about the price of three packs of cigarettes, for context, or three big mac meals) then they can cook your eggs right lol!!

It was lovely, and tasty, but for me (ms perfectionist) the small things make a difference!

I'm glad I got a post out oo... now to do it again!

That's a great place to go again isn't it !

Great place!) And food looks very tasty !)

I'd venture to guess that the O2 level is better than those old "Oxygen Bars" in New York, no?

Very cool images.

Namaste, JaiChai

·

totally! it was so chill in there !

Amazing place to dine-in @princessmewmew and that rare plant is spectacular, I bet that it is a very expensive plant.

·

thanks so much! I still don't know what it is called

Makes two of us battling to get into the swing of things, so much to do, so little time @princessmewmew.

Now back to your food selection, at the price, the eggs should be presented the way you requested.

The Snapdragon is beautiful, cactus appears yellowed to me a sign of being in the wrong pot or wrong spot.

Looks like a nice place to visit not sure about communal dining areas not unless you go in a large group.

·

I still don't know what it is called 😭 i loved that plant!

It's not just the time, but also the lack of motivation that is getting mme!

Nice to see you on here again, and what a cool restaurant i love all the plants that would draw me in to check it out as well

Hi! Apologies for popping onto your comments but have called out to most people on a post with very little feedback. I have just launched the new @steemsouthafrica account and discord server and would be thrilled to have you join us! We are trying to build up some SA STEEM momentum again – organising regular meet-ups etc. If you are interested, you can hop onto the new server HERE – hope to see you there soon! Oh, and you are welcome to start making use of the #steemsa tag on your posts so that we can support them with an upvote and resteem!
JOIN US ON TWITTER

STEEMSA logo.png

Hi, @princessmewmew!

You just got a 0.12% upvote from SteemPlus!
To get higher upvotes, earn more SteemPlus Points (SPP). On your Steemit wallet, check your SPP balance and click on "How to earn SPP?" to find out all the ways to earn.
If you're not using SteemPlus yet, please check our last posts in here to see the many ways in which SteemPlus can improve your Steem experience on Steemit and Busy.

This garden restaurant looks great. I like being surrounded by plants when I eat and I can see many from where I eat at home.

@princemewmew hi princesa, your post reminds me of very good times in Venezuela. Strange plant and good food.

Hello!

This post has been manually curated, resteemed
and gifted with some virtually delicious cake
from the @helpiecake curation team!

Much love to you from all of us at @helpie!
Keep up the great work!


helpiecake

Manually curated by @solominer.


@helpie is a Community Witness.
For more information about our project,
please visit this month’s UPDATE post.

Congratulations @princessmewmew! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 33000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 34000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

You still have your groove, it is just changing and that is great.

Life has been nuts for me too and I think we have the same issue. Start a quick post to do our diligence and interact with the blockchain, and go down a rabbit hole of writing and editing and composing for an hour or more.

We will be here as you get the rhythm back. Enjoy that life!

Posted using Partiko iOS