India vs Srilanka // 3rd ODI Match


It was the 3rd ODI match played between India vs Srilanka yesterday at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. Srilanka beat India by 3 wickets (DLS method). Match reduced to 47 overs due to rain. Though India already have won the 3 match series by 2-1 and finally Srilanka avoided the whitewash.

Match Highlights

India won the toss and elected to bat first. India have started very well. Dhawan have gone for 13 runs then Sanju Sampson came out and made 74 runs partnership with Prithvi Shaw. Shaw scored 49 runs in 49 balls including 8 fours. Sampson scored 46 runs in 46 balls including 5 fours and a six. After breaking their partnership team india faced huge pressure and middle orders totally failed to make a big score. Manish, Hardik, Nitish failed to play a good innings. Suryakumar Yadav played well but finally gone for 40 runs in 37 balls including 7 fours. Finally India scored total 225 runs by 10 wickets in 43.1 overs.

Lankan bowlers always have the reputation to create pressure on opposite team batsman and yesterday they did the same. Dananjaya picked up 3 wickets for 44 runs in 10 overs. Jayawickrama also picked up 3 wickets. Chameera picked up 2 wickets, C Karunaratne and Shanaka each picked up 1 wicket.

In reply Srilanka have started very well. Minod Bhanuka have gone early then Bhanuka Rajapaksa came out and made 109 runs partnership with Avishka Fernando. This big partnership was the turning point for team Srilanka to won the match. Avishka Fernando scored 76 runs in 98 balls including 4 fours and a six. Bhanuka Rajapaksa played aggressive innings and scored 65 runs in 56 balls including 12 fours. After breaking their partnership Srilanka have faced some pressure to chase down 225 runs. But it was easy to score the remaining 80 runs for lankan middle orders. Charith Asalanka scored 24 runs and Ramesh Mendis unbeaten 15 runs. Finally Srilanka won by 3 wickets.

Indian leg spinner Rahul Chahar picked up 3 wickets, Chetan Sakariya 2 wickets, Krishnappa Gowtham and Hardik Pandya each 1 wicket. Avishka Fernando was player of the match and Suryakumar Yadav player of the series.

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!