Sri Lanka vs India // 1st T20 Match // Sunday, Jul 25, 2021


The 1st T20 match of the series was played between India vs Srilanka yesterday at R.Premadasa Stadium, Colombo. India won against Srilanka by 38 runs and lead the three match T20 series by 1-0. They just need to win at least one match from the remaining two matches to confirm the series.

Match Highlights

Srilanka won the toss and invited India to bat first. Indian striker Prithvi Shaw has gone for duck then Sanju Sampson came out and made 51 runs partnership with Shikhar Dhawan. Sanju scored 27 runs in 20 balls including 2 fours and a six. After Sanju's wicket Suryakumar Yadav came out and made 62 runs partnership with Dhawan. Dhawan scored 46 runs in 36 balls including 4 fours and a six. Yadav played an aggressive innings and scored 50 runs in 34 balls including 5 fours and 2 sixes. Hardik gone for 10 runs, Ishan scored 20 runs and remained unbeaten. Finally India scored total 164 runs by 5 wickets.

Lankan pacer Dushmantha Chameera picked up two wickets for 24 runs in 4 overs. Wanindu Hasaranga also picked up 2 wickets for 28 runs in 4 overs. Chamika Karunaratne got 1 wicket.

In reply lankan batsman haven't started well. They were continuously lossing wickets and finally failed to chase down the target. Charith Asalanka played an attacking innings and scored 44 runs in 26 balls including 3 fours and 3 sixes. Avishka Fernando scored 26 runs in 23 balls. Others batsman totally failed to score a creditable innings. Eventually Srilanka packed up for 126 runs in 18.3 overs.

Indian bowlers performed really well. Bhuvneshwar Kumar picked up 4 wickets for 22 runs in 3.3 overs. Deepak Chahar picked up 2 wickets for 24 runs in 3 overs. Krunal Pandya, Hardik Pandya, Varun Chakravarthy, Yuzvendra Chahal each picked up 1 wicket. Bhuvneshwar Kumar was player of the match for his brilliant bowling performance.

Brief Score

India : 164/5
S Yadav 50, Shikhar Dhawan 46
D Chameera 2-24, W Hasaranga 2-28

Srilanka: 126/10
Charith Asalanka 44, A Fernando 26
B Kumar 4-22, D Chahar 2-24

Man of the match: Bhuvneshwar Kumar

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!