2012 - Year in Review

지난달

In November, I went to Vietnam. Before that, I was contemplating going to Vietnam. I was working for my dad in landscaping, 2011-2012, etc. I would hang out with Matt Kurtz, etc. We would eat tacos. We would play video games like Metal Gear, Smash Bros, etc. I was imprisoned for stopping a prank 911 call in July. I was prank online dating on Tagged.com, Facebook, etc, in order to promote my non-existent or not-yet fully developed oatmeal brand and everything, etc, as I tend to do for many years now since like the early 2000's at least.

Mea Omnia

As early as like April, I was working on the Mea Omnia website (to compete with Facebook) with Brent Groth who gave me a laptop, pizza, and bailed me out of jail for $500 in July. Joy Sanchez encouraged me to teach English in Vietnam for like months and I eventually got around to venturing to Asia.

Don't Rush Things

Back in January, I was learning how to not rush things. I was binge watching through many seasons of Dexter. My shed died in February. I sang I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston for my birthday and RIP Whitney. Metal Gear Joey Special Edition. Battle Star Galactica. Dexter. Love Shack Question in March. I started Ignition Impression. Mount St. Helens in April. Everything or Nothing Love Debate May. Why do you like me June. Jaily July.

Moving to Vietnam

Trying to Get a Passport in August. Getting a Passport in September. Biked to Vancouver in October. Leaving America in November. New Star Fired in December. Moved to Papa Foods. Karaoke. Hacky sack. Vietnamese food. Teaching English. Meeting people. Was looking for work. I was a dishwasher.


My Life in Vietnam

2012 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12
2013 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12
2014 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12
2015 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12
2016 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12
2017 | 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12

My Autobiography

1980 | 1981 | 1982 | 1983 | 1984 | 1985 | 1986 | 1987 | 1988 | 1989
1990 | 1991 | 1992 | 1993 | 1994 | 1995 | 1996 | 1997 | 1998 | 1999
2000 | 2001 | 2002 | 2003 | 2004 | 2005 | 2006 | 2007 | 2008 | 2009
2010 | 2011 | 2012 | 2013 | 2014 | 2015 | 2016 | 2017 | 2018 | 2019
2020 - 01 | 02 | 03 | 04 | 05 | 06 | 07 | 08 | 09 | 10 | 11 | 12


2012 - Year In Review

2019-12-05 - Thursday - 03:08 AM LMS - Created | 2020-01-19 - Sunday - 02:28 PM LMS

2012-12-01 - Saturday - 10:18 PM - Chu Quan - Group Photo - JA, Tyler, etc, at Papa Foods 704013_135385923280063_1343338970_o.jpg
Moving to Vietnam

By Oatmeal Joey Arnold

@OatmealJoey | @OatmealEnglish | @OatmealHealth | @JoeyArnoldVN
Published in January of 2020


Contact Me

Facebook | Gab | Minds | Steemit | Twitter | YouTube | And More
See More


Timestamps

All timestamps are generally in Pacific Standard Time (PST) or Pacific Daylight Time (PDT), unless otherwise noted. I was living in Vietnam (2012-2017) where the local time is Indochina Time (ICT) which is 15 hours ahead of PST and 14 hours ahead of PDT. I returned to the United States in November of 2017.


Don't Rush Things

2012-01 - January - Month in Review

2012-01-14 JA SMILE.jpg

I was hanging out with Matt Kurtz and his friends a lot from 2010 to 2012. So, I learned a lot from him: things about life, philosophy, movies, television shows, video games, board games, hiking, thinking, logic, Metal Gear, patience, character development, enjoying a good story without taking too many shortcuts, etc. In January of 2012, I was watching through the 4th season of Star Wars: The Clone Wars, most likely. Obama & Romney had the same banker campaign contributors? Infowars Nightly News videos with Alex Jones. My Facebook was JoeyArnold FbSeven | Facebook eventually terminated some of my accounts. This makes it tougher for me to review my life. I joined Facebook in like 2006 and always felt like it would never censor. Boy was I wrong. Here is a rough draft outline of January 2012. Some of it relates to me and some of it does not. For example, I was not actually watching Alex Jones or Lionel Nation until like 2016. I probably made some videos. I was playing video games. Part of the time, I was living in Forest Grove, Oregon, USA, with my father, from 2011-2012. I was working for my father in the family business, landscaping.


Shed Died

2012-02 - February - Month in Review

I was told to tear down my 2011 shed. So, I tore it down early in 2012, probably in February. Also, on the 20th or near the end of this month, Matt created the Metal Gear Joey: Special Edition which was a video we made the previous year, in 2011. Around the 15th of January, I was like watching Dexter Morgan. I was binge watching Dexter that month. Around February and March, if I didn't already in previous months, I was probably binge watching through Battlestar Galactica. After I finished those two shows, Battlestar and Dexter, I went on to binge watch all seven seasons of Buffy The Vampire Slayer in and around April and May of 2012. On my birthday, on Saturday, the 11th of February of 2012, we went off to Chopsticks for karaoke and I sang I Will Always Love You by Whitney Houston in honor of her death. I may have sang some like Disney songs, etc. | Blueprint to Defeat the New World Order, Speech in Dallas | Train - Drive By | The Walking Dead - Season 02 | The saddest thing that happened this may have been the destruction of my 2011 shed thing. My favorite memory may have been the karaoke moment on my birthday.

Love Shack Question

2012-03 - March - Month in Review

Sharon Clayton and Matt Kurtz told me about The Walking Dead in like 2010 and/or 2011. So, I binge-watched the first season all in like a day and then had to wait for the fall of 2011 for the second season to premiere. Love 2012 Question Debate | Katy Perry - Part Of Me | So, I've been watching each episode of The Walking Dead each week ever since 2011, generally speaking. So, that is the one thing that stayed consistent in my life during the 2010's, that is this past decade, these past ten years, for the most part. I was also watching Star Wars: The Clone Wars. On the 2nd, I created Ignition Impression. Started the love debate question thread on Love Shack on Thursday, the 29th of March of 2012. Love should be focused from a foundation of belief over the winds of emotions. Stand strong on priorities each day. Pick your battles wisely. You don't have time to do everything. Be patient and wait for the right moment. Go with your guts.

Mount St. Helens

2012-04 - April - Month in Review

We went to Mount St. Helens on like Sunday, the 22nd, or around that time (or maybe it was on Monday, the next day). I'm not sure if we also went to Tillamook, that waterfall, other places, in April of 2012 or not. If not, then those trips probably happened in and around like May and/or June. | Nicki Minaj - Starships (Explicit) | I was probably watching through all seven seasons of Buffy The Vampire Slayer in April 2012. I was probably online making friends on Tagged, Facebook, etc. I don't know if I was working on Mea Omnia at that time or if that began after this or before this month. I also don't know if I was specifically thinking about teaching English in Vietnam at that time or not. I would think about world travel and everything going back to like 1993 when I was eight and off and on since then. Eventually, I started thinking about Vietnam like more and more until I finally went there in November of 2012. I was working in landscaping for my father in Forest Grove, Oregon since maybe 1995 and off and on since then. At times, I was hanging out with friends in Vancouver, WA as I would sometimes since 2010. So, that means we would play Super Smash Bros Melee and other video games off and on between 2010-2012 especially.

Everything or Nothing Love Debate

2012-05 - May - Month in Review

Facebook Abortion Debates would consume some of my time, especially in the 2010's and particularly during the first half of 2012. A ladybug shared a picture that I posted. I think it was a photo of an aborted baby that didn't look like a blob of cells haha. Facebook terminated some of my older accounts. Therefore, it is almost impossible to find out what I was doing in the 2000's and 2010's because of that. At the time, I thought this stuff would always be online. I didn't think Facebook would want to censor people until I started seeing it like in the early 2010's in particular. Justin Bieber - Boyfriend (Official Video) | Maroon 5 - Payphone ft. Wiz Khalifa (Explicit) (Official Music Video) | will.i.am - This Is Love ft. Eva Simons | Flo Rida - Whistle | Cher Lloyd - Want U Back


Why do you like me?

2012-06 - June - Month in Review

A woman named Joy wanted me to go to the Philippines to meet her. I started writing to her like on Facebook as early as maybe 2011. But Joy is not the same girl as the other Joy that I met in November 2012 in Vietnam. I didn't meet this woman who was telling me to delete some of my silly photos on social media. I started a thread to ask why she wanted to marry me. I was curious and entertained the thought. I was undecided on the matter but was contemplating it as it was a unique experience in my life. I lost contact with her. Maybe she got mad at me or something. I don't remember what happened. My Facebook was Joey Arnold. At another time, Joey Arnoldtv. But around June of 2012, it was Original Oatmeal and/or I had different accounts, pages, etc, over the years. So, in other words, I'm not actually sure. | Katy Perry - Wide Awake (Official) | Maroon 5 - One More Night (Official Music Video) | Chris Brown - Don't Wake Me Up | Obama Care Scam | Alex Jones | Infowars | 2012 Olympics in London | IRS War on Health Care

Sent to Jail For Stopping a Prank Call

2012-07 - July - Month in Review

I was sent to jail for stopping a prank 911 call. The police came to my house that Friday night, the 13th of July of 2012, in Forest Grove, Oregon, USA, and the cops asked me if I did it. I confessed because I didn't know it was a crime to save them money and time. The police said they weren't going to do anything had I lied to say that I didn't interfere with the phone call. The two male officers took me to the jail in Hillsboro. I was there for two weeks. More on this below. It's a long story. Mr. Bean Live Performance at the London 2012 Olympic Games. I was working landscaping for my dad as usual. I was also working with Brent Groth on Mea Omnia, which was a website competitor to Facebook, etc. We were working on that for many months that year and beyond. Brent gave me a laptop. One time, he bought me pizza. He even bailed me out of jail for $500 one day, late in July or early in August 2012. He drove me around a few times around Oregon. We went sight seeing. Brent originally met me when we were auditioning for Comcast's Wanted Adventure Host. I'm not exactly sure when Brent got me the pizza, the laptop, etc. But I know it was sometime that year.

Trying to Get a Passport

2012-08 - August - Month in Review

I was in jail in July for being a patriot. In August, I was still working on Mea Omnia and was trying to get a passport so I could teach English in Vietnam which I eventually went on to do in November. | Justin Bieber - As Long As You Love Me ft. Big Sean (Official Music Video) | How do I get to Sesame Street, I mean Vietnam? | Taylor Swift - We Are Never Ever Getting Back Together | The Script - Hall of Fame ft. will.i.am | Trends Journal | Alex Jones interviewed David Knight. This appears to be the first time that David was in studio. So, at that point, Alex mentioned how David might become a reporter for Infowars and asked David what he would want to do. David said he wants to focus on documentaries and especially on helping the new viewers of Infowars in defining terms like what is globalism, agenda 21, the attack on the family, geoengineering, tech cartels, bad vaccines, CPS, the climate hoax, etc. Very insightful to see the evolution of David between 2012-2019. Seven years is a long time.

Getting a Passport

2012-09 - September - Month in Review

I was still working in landscaping for dad and I was getting my passport which I started working on in August of 2012. In July, was in jail for stopping a prank call. I was still working on Mea Omnia as usual. So, September was very similar to August for me. | Christina Aguilera - Your Body | One Direction - Live While We're Young

Biked to Vancouver

2012-10 - October - Month in Review

I biked from Forest Grove, OR to Vancouver, WA to see Matt Kurtz on the 19th, on a Friday, and I almost made it all the way without the help of the MAX Train. GoDaddy was trying to make me and Brent pay more money for our website, Mea Omnia. So, we were battling GoDaddy for months and especially this month, October of 2012. Brent bought the domain name, MeaOmnia.com, around April and we started building the site since then. We continued working on this website project in 2013 as well. After that, we discontinued from that project. We were trying to build an alternative to Facebook and ended up failing. Other than that, I was working for my dad in landscaping. I was preparing to go to Vietnam and had half of the funds needed which was around $400.

Justin Bieber - Beauty And A Beat ft. Nicki Minaj (Official Video) | Bruno Mars - Locked Out Of Heaven

Leaving America

2012-11 - November - Month in Review

I moved to Vietnam. | Before that, I hung out with Matt Kurtz, Heidi, etc. Then, hung out with Mike Kurtz and others at The Salvation Army Gresham Corps. These are the people I hung out before exiting America on Tuesday, the 27th of November of 2012. It was extremely difficult to leave as I was hanging out with people that I love. During my last five days in America, I thought a lot about everything and yet I was already committed to moving to Vietnam forever. Ironically, that followed with my first five days in Vietnam which were somewhat good until I was fired on the sixth day, that is Tuesday morning around 07:00 AM ICT or something like that which was Monday night in Oregon time (AKA the 7th day from the previous Tuesday). I ended up returning to the United States of America (USA) in November of 2017, five years later, 2012-2017, but I was really intending to be in Vietnam for the rest of my life.

will.i.am - Scream & Shout ft. Britney Spears (Official Music Video) | Ke$ha - Die Young | Rihanna - Diamonds

New Star Fired

2012-12 - December - Month in Review

During my first full month in Việt Nam, on Tuesday, the 4th of December of 2012, I was fired from New Star in Bắc Ninh, Vietnam. I moved into Papa Foods restaurant and worked as a dishwasher. I would teach people English sometimes here and there. I was on Tagged, Couch Surfing, Facebook, Craigslist, etc, looking for other teaching gigs. I hung out with Joy Sanchez, Janice, Tyler Capp, etc, and especially the owner of Papa Foods who let me live there, Andy Nguyen (Truong Giang Vu) who is also a singer. His wife (Bồ Đề Tâm Như or Châu Giang) was an excellent cook. I enjoyed the meals she cooked for the Papa Foods staff which included me. I was living in Bắc Ninh from November of 2012 to January of 2013. In our free time, we would play hacky sack. A few times, we played pool, AKA Billiards. We did karaoke at times. I met Kim and a few other people a few times here and there. There were a few little adventures. This is an incomplete, unfinished, rough draft outline of my life during December of 2012, a month in review. I'm going to try to talk more about some of these things later. For example, I visited a wedding around this time. But don't remember when or where. So, I'm still investigating. More on some of these things later. To be continued.

Imagine Dragons - Radioactive

Authors get paid when people like you upvote their post.
If you enjoyed what you read here, create your account today and start earning FREE STEEM!
STEEMKR.COM IS SPONSORED BY
ADVERTISEMENT